9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 3, 2016 3:15 PM by COBrien

Where to start

COBrien

Hi All,

I'm a new community member, but have been using simple filemaker on and off for many years. I now want to develop the functionality for my business a bit more proactively. I am hoping to be able to develop some simple but 'use specific' databases to help myself and my colleagues move away from repeated manual data preparation. I'm an architect based in Dublin, Ireland, where we are seeing a growing relevance for flexible databases in our industry. I have a number of basic questions (I think) and would love to know where to start.

• 1. Re: Where to start
          jbrown

Hello.

The best place to start is the Database Skills, FileMaker Pro Training | FileMaker This is the FileMaker training series. This will get you oriented to the platform so that you can figure out where to go next. I recommend reading through this. There's an advanced version as well. It requires the Community Subscription or a downright purchase of it. The former choice is pretty good for the perks you get.

There's a ton of great blog posts out there as well. These tend to be sporadic in their content. Lynda.com has a great FileMaker training course as well.

The starter solutions that come with FileMaker are great as well. You can tear them apart and see how things were constructed. Find one that is close to what you want to do.

And of course, this community. Most of us are helpful, patient, and will answer any question you throw at us.

• 2. Re: Where to start
            COBrien

Hi Jeremy,

Patient and helpful are always good. I'll continue doing my reading. I agree, the videos are great as they inform by example. Thank you for your pointers.

• 3. Re: Where to start
              COBrien

So - I'll start with a question if thats ok. I have prepared a FM database whose purpose is to issue certificates. This involves 3 tables -