13 Replies Latest reply on Jan 27, 2016 12:38 PM by beverly

What is TO?

davidhoch

I'm new to FileMaker (I'm switching over from Bento) and in my research on using scripts and functions, I keep seeing references to the acrnoym TO.  I've searchED every where but I can't find what it means.  Can someone please expalin this term or method or whatever it is to me?

Thanks,

David Hoch

• 1. Re: What is TO?
          kglsong

Table Occurrence, one table can have 1 or more occurrences in one solutions.

TO tells FM where to get the data.

• 2. Re: What is TO?
            davidhoch

Thanks!  Now I know how to search for it so I can learn more about it.

David

• 3. Re: What is TO?
              BruceRobertson

I will try my hand at this.

A table is the "raw" or basic technical definition of a table.

Say a very basic Contacts table, with First Name, Last Name, Address, City, State, Zip, Contact ID.

A table occurrence is an instance of this table on the relationship graph.

A layout must be based on a table occurrence. It can display the fields from this  table occurrence.

Through the relationship graph, you can relate different tables to each other.

Imagine a second TO based on Contacts. We define this table occurrence to have a connection to the first occurrence.

We set it up where State = State. We name this table occurrence Same_state_contacts.

Now, we can create a portal on our original contacts layout; and easily see all the other people who live in the same state.

This representation on the graph is a way of allowing data connections to be set up; and a way of allowing layouts to look at the data. Both table occurrences are based on the same set of records. Nothing has been duplicated.

• 5. Re: What is TO?

I think of a TO as the way FM does joins.