1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on Feb 17, 2016 7:46 PM by jrockstrom

prevent importing duplicate records?

jrockstrom

I have multiple users who want to load training records for our sports group. The fields are 'M/ship ID', 'Month', 'Training Days', 'Type of training', 'Location of training'. My concern is when they import the records, they could accidentally do it twice and double the number of training days. I would like to run a check and if the data in all 5 fields is exactly the same then the import for that record is ignored. If it is not exactly the same across the 5 fields the record is added to the db.

I'm a moderate developer, at best, working with FMP14 Advanced on Mac.

If anyone can help I'd be very grateful!

John R

PS The coaches are all honorary and I can't impose stringent rules on them, which is why I have to build in the security at my end.

• 1. Re: prevent importing duplicate records?
          Mike_Mitchell

John -

A few different ways to accomplish this:

1) Simplest way is to import based on matching fields ("Update matching records in found set") and just select all the fields in the import as matching fields.

2) Create a concatenated field that merges all the records, like this:

M/ship ID & Month & Training Days & Type of training & Location of training

Use that as a match field instead. (Note: This will work more tightly than the first option, since the order of the data matters.)

3) Import the data into a utility table, basically a copy of the eventual destination table. Then, use scripting and relationships to check for duplicates before creating the records in the final database, either via Import or Set Field across the relationship.