9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 4, 2016 7:34 AM by kathyfilemaker

Move record to a new table on checkbox click

kathyfilemaker

Hi, I'm new to filemaker (12) and databases in general but here's what I'd like to do.

I have a master list of available paintings with fields for sizes, descriptions, etc.

I would like to have a record move to another table (sold paintings) and be removed from the parent table when the user clicks on a checkbox named SOLD.

The list of sold paintings would be useful for reference.

Is there a simple way to do this?

Thanks for any help!

Kathy

• 1. Re: Move record to a new table on checkbox click
          Mike_Mitchell

Hello, Kathy. Welcome.

What you want can be done relatively easily using scripts. Here's how I would do it:

1) Create a relationship between the table holding the unsold paintings and the one for the sold paintings. You can use the unique key field (ID) as the match field.

2) Allow the relationship to create records in the history side.

3) Create a script that follows these basic steps:

• Check to see if the record already exists in the Sold table. (If it does, you have an error someplace.)
          • If the record doesn't already exist, simply use a series of Set Field commands to push the data into the Sold table, such as:

Set Field [ Sold::Artist ; Value: Current::Artist ]

Set Field [ Sold::Size ; Value: Current::Size ]

where "Sold" and "Current" represent the names of the tables for sold and current paintings.

• Verify that the data have successfully been created via a calculation such as "not IsEmpty ( Sold::Artist )". Or, alternatively, use a concatenated field that's a joining of all the fields you're pushing over, such as Artist & Size & Description. Then you can just ask if Sold::concatField = Current::concatField. (Or, you can just do that as part of your comparison by setting variables.)
          • Delete the record in the Current table.