5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 2, 2016 5:27 PM by DanielShanahan

Adding/Assigning Parent Record from Child Layout

jgetman

First off, I'm a beginner, so I'm probably asking a silly question.  I actually hope I am, because it means I'm making things too hard. 

I am creating a database in which there is a child table that has two parents. (Which is really just a join table, I know, but my problem still remains.)  I need to have the choice of assigning the second parent to the child, or creating a new second parent from the child, in the child layout. No matter what I do, I can't figure out how to make either of those things work. I'm sure it's a scripting thing...and I haven't yet wrapped my head around difficult scripts.

I've attached an example that shows the build I've come up with. Feel free to correct any odd things I've done. I'm really looking forward to figuring this out.

Thanks!

• 2. Re: Adding/Assigning Parent Record from Child Layout
          jgetman

Hi, Daniel. This definitely helps. Thank you!  I can see that I was trying to make this part of the solution too hard.  Discounting the finds and the exit commands, what I see is that you a) created a new MasterCueInstance (parent) record and saved a variable based on its primary key, b) went back to the CueInstance (child) layout and set the field MasterCueInstanceID_fk equal to the primary key of the MasterCueInstance (parent) record, and c) went back to the MasterCueInstance (parent) layout.  Great! This makes sense, and I appreciate the lesson!

I'm going to credit you on the final draft of the app once I'm done, if you don't mind.