• TableA with
        • __pkActivityID
        • ActivityName
      • TableB with
        • __pkTurnoverID
        • __fkActivityID
        • Year
        • Turnover

For each record in Table A, I have 20 records of Table B.  Each year being the turnover for the 20 past/future years for the linked activity.

Whilst being on a form linked to TableA, showing a record from TableA - i.e. with __pkActivityID = 1, I would like to show a line chart with the turnover for the current activity (__pkActivityID = 1) for all the years < X (i.e. 2020).

I did several tests using ExecuteSQL but none of them gave the expected results.

Could you tell me which syntax I should use to achieve this?

Thanks in advance for your input & time!
      Kind regards,

_Fred_

• 1. Re: Chart showing linked & filtered data
          macwombat

Hi Fred.  I'm no expert on ExecuteSQL so I can't advise you on that.  However it can be done reasonably easily without it.  I've attached a sample file that you can look at.  Couple of things to note:

1.  In the Chart Setup under Data Source - you need to set the Chart Data to "Current Record (delimited data)".  This sets the chart to look from the current record in your form view across to the related records.

2.  I used the list function in the calculations for the x & y data eg. List ( TableB::Year ).

HTH.  Chris

• 2. Re: Chart showing linked & filtered data
            FredH

Hi Chris,

Thanks a lot for your answer!  I did not know the list function and it looks nice but I am still not sure how to make it work.

Let's say that in your example, I would like to only show the years 2001 until 2010 on the graph whilst TableB contains values for 1998 until 2015.  How would you combine this with the List function?

Thanks in advance for your input!
            Kind regards,

Fred

• 3. Re: Chart showing linked & filtered data
              macwombat