7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 21, 2017 4:40 AM by holstermedia@gmail.com

How to get FM 14 manually push to Wordpress using MySql for product line

xanderms

I am seeking some information on how to finish what someone else started on our product line database.  In syncing/pushing the data to MySql and WordPress.  So that FileMaker is our content management for hundreds of products with ever changing information in multiple locations.  We are Mac based, but if the process is easier on PC i can do that too.

I am a newbie at programming filemaker but a self taught quick study.  I need to get this done asap and then will proceed with overall filemaker developer training.  I would be more than happy to take any screenshots needed.

Thank you.

• 1. Re: How to get FM 14 manually push to Wordpress using MySql for product line
          mark_baum

My apologies for not attending to this sooner, but I think you'll get more attention to this thread in the Discussions forum -- I'm moving it there now.

• 2. Re: How to get FM 14 manually push to Wordpress using MySql for product line
            bigtom

There are a few ways to do this and some of it depends on your preference.

First option, ODBC connection directly to the MySQL database.

Upside

• Very fast changes or new table entries made to the MySQL database.
            • Easy to script the sync/push of data.
            • Works directly from FMGo

Downside

• You may want to add a UUID column to the wp_posts table. Some people just use the postID, but some do not.
            • You need an ODBC driver that costs money. Mac ODBC: MySQL Driver.
            • Some security risk because the database needs to be open to remote connections. This is not a big deal usually as you can limit the IP addresses that are allowed to access the database and there is still security, but it is technically less secure.