4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 9, 2016 3:19 PM by beverly

go to record

Jamiesmith

hi all, i am new to FM and have version 14.

i have three layouts - a home screen with buttons to two layouts (business addresses and quotes)

what i would like to do is have a drop down menu on the home screen that i drop down to select a business name and that takes me to that specific record and in the business address layout

i have tried the go to related record but it just seems to skip to the the last viewed record, do i need to have a relationship set up, or is it a straight forward script to jump to that record and layout?

ta

jamie

• 1. Re: go to record
          macwombat

Hi Jamie - welcome to FM and the community.  I'm making a couple of assumptions here:

1.  If your 'home screen' is based on a separate table (eg. menu) and if your dropdown is attached to a global field in the 'menu' table ...

Then you need a relationship between the 'menu' table occurrence and the 'business addresses' table occurrence - with the global field to the business name as the predicate in the relationship - see screenshot.

2016-02-10 09_42_49-Edit Relationship.png

HTH.  Chris

• 2. Re: go to record
            SteveMartino

Which table is the home screen layout based on?

Which table is the business Address based on?

I assume you mean have a field, that's a drop down, tied to a value list of business addresses.

What you would want is a trigger, OnObjectModify, for one, that grabs the value and either goes to the related record, if the 2 layouts are related, or grabs the value and sets a variable, goes to the addresses layout, enter find mode, set the proper field to the variable, Perform Find

• 3. Re: go to record
              Jamiesmith

hi guys

thanks for v quick response, i am not sure i follow, i have attached some images,

do i need a new table relating to the home screen with a field linking a relationship to the business name?