6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 19, 2016 3:11 PM by dpwrussell

Entering data into multiple tables with a single portal

dpwrussell

Hi,

I am extremely new to Filemaker (literally, a few hours today and that's it), but I have a lot of experience with SQL databases. I have been asked to help on a Filemaker project.

The actual problem is in the final paragraphs on this page!

The project is to build a FileMaker database to manage Reagents in our lab along with interfaces to allow data entry, review and create reports. I have design a database structure like this.

Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 15.50.36.png

There are 5 types of entity that we keep track of and we also track individual batches of these because there can be variation and they can be located in different places, etc. There are a lot of fields that are shared between all 5 types (Antibody, Protein, Small Molecule, Cell and Other) so I have normalized this into the Entity table. We also wish to be able to have a layout which shows our entire inventory (i.e. all 5 types) and just show the generic (i.e. in Entity table) information and as I understand it, UNION is not possible so that's another reason to have the Entity table.

For each specific Entity (e.g. a particular Antibody) we will have zero, 1 or n batches. Each of those batches has a small amount of information which is specific to the Entity type upon which it is based (e.g. Cell Batch has a field 'Transient Modifications' which is not relevant to any of the others). So there is the generic batch information (e.g. date acquired, location, etc) in the Batch table and specific information about that batch type in the 5 Batch tables.