1 2 Previous Next 17 Replies Latest reply on Jun 18, 2016 5:54 AM by ykoutroulis

How do I create simple search form

bajadude

Let me start by saying that I'm an MS Access developer trying to get up to speed on FileMaker. While I find FileMaker "interesting" some relatively simple tasks that would take me 5 minutes in Access seem almost impossible in FileMaker.

Case in point: I have a table with a dozen or so fields in each record and 300,000+ records in the table. I also have a layout that lists the records in the table. Obviously no one is going to scroll through that much data so I want to frontend the list with a very simple form that allows the user to enter values for several of the fields (all indexed) to select a subset of the records, which will be displayed in the list layout. Most of the search fields will be drop-down boxes so the user can quickly enter his/her criteria. This will be an iPhone app, so I'm NOT interested in using the built-in Find options on the standard menu - I want to initiate the search manually once the criteria has been entered. Any suggestions?

• 1. Re: How do I create simple search form
          MaxEh

The first thing you need to do is not think in MS Access terms as some of the terminology is a bit different.

Think of your table (or layout in FMP) as the 'very simple form' into which you place your find criteria. You can also create a separate layout to initiate the find. I think what you want is a scripted button that you want the user to click to begin the selection process that allows them to select from your drop downs. Read up on doing Finds and how to script in the help sections or the basic training videos that are available.

Also if you haven't already take a look at some of the starter solutions to get an idea of what is possible. Any layout in FMP can be used as a form to initiate a find request although there are many other UI options that can be considered (DT vs iPhone vs iPad etc)