12 Replies Latest reply on Feb 15, 2016 12:25 PM by ienalpe28

How to count every person registered?

ienalpe28

Hi guys I'm new to filemaker and I am creating a simple database for every person who time in and then count the person position.

Example: I am the first to arrive at the office and I time in at 7:00 am, this should make me "1" meaning I am the first to arrive. and then another employee arrive at 7:05 which automatically place him "2" for arriving second and so on and so forth. When I time in the place or position automatically generates. How can I achieved this?

I'm building this for the attendance the whole year. We will have a special prizes to the top 10 winners. Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: How to count every person registered?
          peterba1

Re-start counting each day?

• 2. Re: How to count every person registered?
            peterba1

Create a table with a field that registers each login to the database using a calculation.  The second field in the table should be a timestamp, You can then find the current day, sort the timestamps and allocate a number using replacing.  This could run each time anyone logs in.

I had a database that did this in the past, but cannot find it.

• 3. Re: How to count every person registered?
              Urs_Landis

or you just count the logins with a self relationsship on the date

• 4. Re: How to count every person registered?
                ienalpe28

uhmmmm... let me absorb that a sec. hmmmmmmmm not getting it haha.. So far I got the timestamp which is triggered by a button. So when I click the button it registered the time and it should get the place or positiong also whether 1, 2, 3 or so on..

• 5. Re: How to count every person registered?
                  peterba1

I called my database Log test Database

You need some fields:

Name -text

Timestamp - creation timestamp

Login - Calculation -

Order of arrival - Number