11 Replies Latest reply on Feb 20, 2016 8:49 AM by beverly

Creating fM structure for plant and animal classification and keys

JeffHart

I am relatively new to FM. I have been creating a database for some of my photography and wanted to create an easy way to identify natural hierarchical groupings found in nature. I am somewhat comfortable with in-table manipulations such as find features, field creation, searches and learning about creating relationship between tables. I am asking about a reality check with this type of approach with FM 14. The graphics at the bottom show a general layout of the different tables and their relationships to one another. There is far too much data (especially fields) in some groupings to include all of the FIND features in one table or even one view within a table. So here is my question, assuming that this structure works for FM: how do I navigate, through the FIND process, through this proposed but natural hierarchy. I want to be able to sequentially execute FIND commands, ideally going from one table to another as the user “keys out” the different groups of organisms.  I hope that I have made myself clear, and thanks for your help. INature2.jpg

• 1. Re: Creating fM structure for plant and animal classification and keys
          beverly

I would not put these into different TABLES, just different records of the same table with self-join to itself with a "parent_id" field pointing to the record that is the parent. That's storage, that's ease of search. Display in a tree? I believe there may be threads in this forum (or others) discussing display

(genealogy, pedigree, organizational charting), such as:

https://community.filemaker.com/thread/148346?start=0&tstart=0

beverly

• 2. Re: Creating fM structure for plant and animal classification and keys
            siplus

not very clear I'm afraid - we don't know how you code the single photo.