8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 26, 2016 6:06 AM by mbb04915

How can I build searchable photo storage on fairly small scale?

mbb04915

Beginner here, having a heck of a good time organizing and compiling info on plant species and cultivars used in horticulture. Excel really, really doesn’t do it!!!    Bumbling along fairly well.

Question: the photos storage structure  For now, I plan to use  containers for simplicity as there aren’t all that many. Each photo can have show more than one species, tho’ probably never more than 10 .

How do I structure the photo storage?  1) I could have a table for each photo tho’ that seems excessive. 2) Or I could have one Photos table with  a container field and ten species’ fields (and other necessary fields of course).    I would need to be able to search the photos using species names either manually, or ideally using a script.  I don’t want to build something that will foul up searchability.

If someone could get me pointed in the right direction I would ever so grateful.

• 1. Re: How can I build searchable photo storage on fairly small scale?
          CarstenLevin

There are more that one answer to your question, more than one good way to do it, and some warnings. I will try to give you some advice here and an example.

model1.png

I have added an example file you can have a look at or use as a starting point. Try adding a specie, and then ad photos to this.

My first thought is that you will also need to have an other table with the groups of species, using Carl von Linné's model or whatever.

But as a starting point, have a look at this.

I will add some more notes about your questions.

• 2. Re: How can I build searchable photo storage on fairly small scale?
            CarstenLevin