2 Replies Latest reply on Feb 23, 2016 10:18 PM by taylorsharpe

FileMaker Pro 5 Runtime License Key - Long Shot! Help Please!

Wyotee

I know this is probably the longest of shots. I apologize in advance if I mix up some terminology, but I am not as gifted with computers as some of you great people. I have been using the same FM5 Runtime program for almost 15 years. The company/person who originally coded it had the foresight to use license keys to prevent piracy, which is perfect. I bought the license key and have been happily using the program since. The program was on a un-upgraded machine running XP, so it was showing it's age. I started looking into new machines, and, as if it knew what I was doing, it died on me. I would be more than happy to go to that old company and purchase a new license key, but the company was shut down several years ago and so I can't get in contact with anybody to resolve the issue.

I was able to salvage the files and programs from the old hard drive and was able to get the program up and running on my new machine, however it is stuck in demo mode until I can purchase a new license, which I can't do now. When I copied over the old information, absolutely everything in the program was recovered, thankfully, down to the original license key. The program recognizes that it is running on a different computer, so the old key is worthless.