12 Replies Latest reply on Feb 24, 2016 6:29 PM by bigtom

Copying multiple fields

AngelArs

Newbie here. I have to make a solution that will end up looking like a excel table.

It will have hundreds, if not thousands of fields where I will need to enter in numbers. I think the easiest way to enter in the numbers will be drop down list.

Making each field separately in the table would take a very long time. Is there any way that I can make the first field, and then copy all if its parameters across the rest of the table?

• 1. Re: Copying multiple fields
          bigtom

Excel does function differently even though FM table view resembles a spreadsheet. I am not sure what about Excel you need to replicate. A database table is not exactly like a spreadsheet. Can you give some example of what you are trying to actually do.

There are ways to duplicate things to an extent, but not knowing what you want makes it tough to give advice.

• 2. Re: Copying multiple fields
            AngelArs

This Filemaker solution is for taking inventory, and will be made up of many tabs. Each tab will be a different store section. One tab might look like this;

dropdown boxes.png

Each box (field) inside the red square are drop down boxes which contain the numbers 1 through 30.

Where it says Product A would be product A's SKU number. You would count how many are in dept 1, dept 2, dept 3, etc. and put the total in the "Total" field. The POS field is what the stores database says the total should be. If the numbers are different then there might be a theft or a misplaced item. We do each product twice a day, and there are thousands of products. Would like to make the process as quick and easy as possible. Thanks.

• 3. Re: Copying multiple fields
              bigtom

In this case I would use either a Portal in Form View or List View.