7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 16, 2016 2:58 PM by BruceRobertson

Scripting to Replace Field Contents Across All Records

kasta

Hello! I'm quite new to FileMaker, and have just begun exploring scripting relatively recently, so apologies if this question seems a bit silly, but I'm getting quite exasperated and think I'm probably missing something quite obvious here.

I am trying to script to replace the contents of a field across all records. The contents of this field then instigate a calculation in another field, the result of which is different depending upon what was inputted in the first field (the one I am scripting to replace). There is also an additional field that sums up the contents of the calculated field.

Example of my goal -- the field I am scripting for is replaced to 2016 across all records. As a result, the calculation field on each record then yield the appropriate result for when 2016 is inputted in the other field (this calculation works fine on a record-by-record basis). Then, on another layout, a sum field sums all the calculated fields that were populated when 2016 was selected.

Here's what I have for the script--simple and to the point--but it doesn't update the field across all records, only some, thus the sum field isn't showing the correct total.

Replace Field Contents [No dialog; FIELD1 ; Current contents]

I tried to fix it by inserting a loop, and also tried to use Set Field as well, but still no luck.

Any ideas? Thanks all!

EDIT (INFO FROM REPLIES BELOW FURTHER EXPLAINING MY ISSUES AND GOAL):