6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 18, 2016 10:43 AM by alecgregory

Testing for empty date field

BillPlunkett

I have a "calculation" field that is set to YES if both of 2 dates fields do not contain dates and NO if either field contains a date.  Both date fields are in the same table as the calculation field.  (my background is more in SQL and C-like languages).  Since there does not seem to be a nil or null test and testing for "" doesn't work.  How do I test for an empty date field?

The calculation I currently have for the field "OnRanch" is:   If ( DeathDate = ""  & SaleDate = "" ; "Yes" ; "No" )

The table contains records for livestock that has ever been on the ranch.  If they haven't died or been sold, then they must currently be "On the Ranch".  Of course, I haven't handled rustling but... 

thanks,

bill

• 1. Re: Testing for empty date field
          dtcgnet

Use IsEmpty.

If ( IsEmpty ( DeathDate ) and IsEmpty ( SaleDate) ; "Yes" ; "No" )

I prefer Case statements. To me, they are just easier to read.

Case (

IsEmpty ( DeathDate ) and IsEmpty ( SaleDate) ; "Yes" ;

"No"

)

Also, the "&" is used to concatenate other things. Like FirstName & " " & LastName. Use And instead.

• 2. Re: Testing for empty date field
            BillPlunkett

thanks so much.  I can always depend on this forum for solutions for my problems....

b

• 3. Re: Testing for empty date field

And, for SQL, use a slightly different method:

The SQL could be part of a calculation or other decision logic.

HTH

- m

• 4. Re: Testing for empty date field
                alecgregory

It's actually quite interesting to dissect the original calculation. Although it's not best practice, why wouldn't it work?

If ( DeathDate = ""  & SaleDate = "" ; "Yes" ; "No" )