7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 24, 2016 5:15 PM by jbrown

Very Basic Q - create a chart

Stigge

Hi all..

Am REALLY bad with charts, somehow i cant understand how they work.. :/

I have 6 fields values that i want to show in a Line chart, just have no clue how :/

Fields are:

"Period 1"  ->  "Total Cost 1"

"Period 2"  ->  "Total Cost 2"

"Period 3"  ->  "Total Cost 3"

Can anyone help me out on this, what am guessing is a really simply task ? =)

• 1. Re: Very Basic Q - create a chart
          jbrown

Hello.

Here's a great guide to charting in FileMaker.

In-Depth: Charting

Its not incredibly easy to get started, but once you figure it out, you'll be able to create charts easily moving forward.

A line chart shows change in data over time (I taught that concept when I was a 5th grade math teacher).

So each line is a separate series of data: Apple sales, pear sales, banana sales, etc over a certain time period (months, days, etc). The time period would be plotted on the graph in the x-axis.

Your line chart data would need to be, for example, a total of the apple sales for each time period you wish to show on your graph in the x-axis. I'm not quite sure which field would show that from your list of fields.

Can you give us a little more information about what you want to show on the graph? And maybe some sample data?

Thanks.

• 2. Re: Very Basic Q - create a chart
            Stigge

Hi Jeremy

I have read that guide, i get the whys and whats etc.. just that in my case i have it hard to take it to practice :/

My problem is that Y axis is flexible with several series. but thats not possible for the Y Axis ..

and since i have 3 periods fields and 3 total COSTs fields i cant get it to work :/

Am sure there is some way around that. =)

• 3. Re: Very Basic Q - create a chart
              jbrown