1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply on Mar 30, 2016 4:13 PM by carrillas

Value List based on the same table with 1 criteria.

carrillas

I am very new to FileMaker and I have having trouble in creating a value list that is based off of the same table using one criteria. Here is the story, I manager a program where applicants go through a jury section process; some are selected and others are not. I have a table titled Applicant Information with a field titled Selected with a value list of Yes or No. I am creating a form layout and I want to add a value list with only the applicants that were selected. How do I create such a value list?

• 1. Re: Value List based on the same table with 1 criteria.
          dsvail

do you mean you want to only show those applicants that have been selected... a found set where the field 'Selected' ="Yes" ?

• 2. Re: Value List based on the same table with 1 criteria.
            coherentkris

You need to look up information on conditional/related, table based, value lists.

Creating conditional Value Lists | FileMaker

If you have a constant = "Yes" as a field on the left side of a relationship and set your value list to get the values across the relationship you will get only those values on the right where field "Yes"

• 3. Re: Value List based on the same table with 1 criteria.
              carrillas

Thank you for your replies. I have created a calculation filed labeled SelectedApplicants and entered "Yes" in the specified calculation dialog box. I have created a second ApplicantionInfo TO and created a self joined relationship. In the Edit Relationship dialog box the new TO is on the left side. I added a second criteria showing:

And SelectedApplicants = Selected

Is this correct?

• 4. Re: Value List based on the same table with 1 criteria.
                dtcgnet

Post a screen shot of your relationship. That'll help us.