1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply on Apr 6, 2016 2:05 PM by beverly

Can I Create This With Filemaker

MattSpence

I'm a high school teacher, and I've been looking for an app that will allow me to plan my classes, maintain my records, keep my contacts, and store my course materials. Ideally, I'd also like it to sync with my calendars and my various email accounts. So, basically, I want a big planner and notebook rolled into a digital package. However, there doesn't seem to be such an app that will do as much as I want. So, I'm thinking that I might have to create it myself. I once used Bento to handle some of these tasks, but that went away, so I'm here to ask if Filemaker might be a solution for me. Could I use it to construct a multi-function database that would serve as such an app? Also, if I were able to figure out how to use Filemaker for this purpose, could I share that product with my colleagues? If so, would they also need to purchase Filemaker? Please let me know if this is possible. Thanks!

• 1. Re: Can I Create This With Filemaker

Hey Matt,

Using FileMaker Server, sharing the application is no problem.

You might want to watch some YouTube videos, or, better yet, check out the Lynda.com FileMaker 14 course.

That information should let you know if FM is a fit for your needs.

-- m

• 2. Re: Can I Create This With Filemaker
            coherentkris

filemaker can do this.

are you willing to invest the time and energy it will take to develop a comprehensive solution?

this is not a starter level project to get it right.

.. but you have to start somewhere

• 3. Re: Can I Create This With Filemaker
              Stephen Huston

Yes, FM can do all this. Look at the various Starter Solutions that come with FileMaker, and you should find most of these functions included, but it can take some effort to get them all working as an integrated system.