4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 4, 2016 4:37 AM by wimdecorte

FileMaker Automation

chad.m.baker77@gmail.com

While I'm completely new to FM, I've been writing Java for a long time. For the most part, I'm blown away by FM and how accessible they make the solution to the end-user, should they need to change it. There are other scenarios though, that I've been surprised how labor intensive they are. Is it possible to automate any FM functionality?

Windows Office, for example.. there are java and c# interops available to automate the creation of documents (usually just the backend xml) or develop plugins for those applications. Is anyone aware of any java apis or other automation options for the generation of FM files? (projects? databases?)

For example, is it possible to generate template projects, based on my own custom archetypes. From an efficiency standpoint, it would be great if I could create an interface for myself, as the developer, where I make my own custom project config decisions, then generate a more useful fmp12 baseline to work from, hopefully eliminating some of the more tedious tasks.

Thank you kindly

• 1. Re: FileMaker Automation
          bigtom

I am not sure this is possible, but I am hoping someone will say that it is. It would be great for development if you could generate a solution that is tailored to a specific client using certain selections but built off of a template.

The only thing that may come close is the ability to import records into a new table. This does not give you the relationships though.

• 2. Re: FileMaker Automation
            Vaughan

chad.m.baker77@gmail.com wrote:

...it would be great if I could create an interface for myself, as the developer, where I make my own custom project config decisions, then generate a more useful fmp12 baseline to work from, hopefully eliminating some of the more tedious tasks.