4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 6, 2016 6:44 PM by brendaha

Counting single occurrences (unique values)

brendaha

I created a report that counts the number of classes a student would take in a given year.  While one necessary report tells me the classes the student took in the given year, I need another report that gives me the total number of attendees for a given year.  Right now, my report shows duplicates thus if Alfred Hitchcock took two classes in 2015, it would my report lists his name twice thus the summary includes one extra number which should not be there.

I am extremely new to FileMaker Pro 13 and admit I don't know much about calculations or scripts.  Could someone in the community provide a detailed step-by-step process that would result in a count of unique values such that students taking two classes in a given year would only be counted once for that year, please?  I may have bitten off more than I can chew with my limited knowledge of the program, but a database with this capability is due in two weeks.

Please help!!!

• 1. Re: Counting single occurrences (unique values)
          Mike_Mitchell

The simplest way is probably to use ExecuteSQL:

ExecuteSQL ( "SELECT DISTINCT table.field FROM table WHERE table.yearTaken = '2015'" ; "" ; "" )

Another way is to render the report from the proper context where each item you're trying to count has only one occurrence. In your example, you could use a Students table and perform a Find for all students who had classes in 2015 (perform the Find through a portal).

HTH

Mike

• 2. Re: Counting single occurrences (unique values)
            erolst

Mike_Mitchell wrote:

In your example, you could use a Students table and perform a Find for all students who had classes in 2015 (perform the Find through a portal).

Not necessarily by using a portal, but simply by querying the related fields; if the structure is

Class (incl. year) --< Enrolment >-- Student