3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 13, 2016 4:42 AM by jonasmn

How do I best split my database project?

jonasmn

I am new to FileMaker, working in FM Pro 14 Advanced

I plan to make a solution that will be used by different clients, so I need to make the updating as easy as possible. I have understood that a good thing to do is to have one file for layouts and scripts and other files for data/tables. My question is:

Is it enough to split the project into 2 files a) one with layout and scripts and b) one file with ALL data/tables or should I have one file per table?

Regards

Jonas Möller Nielsen

Sweden

• 1. Re: How do I best split my database project?
          wimdecorte

In its simplest form there is one UI file and one Data file.  But whether that makes sense depends on your solution and the impact on things like backups.  You can certainly have multiple UI files and multiple Data files.  If you tables with static data (data that does not change during the day) then it makes sense to split those tables off into a separate Data file.  That will help a lot with backup speed and the disk space it consumes.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: How do I best split my database project?
            Mike_Mitchell

Hello, Jonas.

Adding to Wim's comments, I would say that there are several considerations:

1) Are these different clients all nearby, geographically? It may make sense to split them into different instances if they're separated by a significant distance, since latency is at least loosely related to the distance between the client and the server. Latency is probably enemy #1 when it comes to performance.