13 Replies Latest reply on May 19, 2016 3:34 PM by paulapalooza

DevCon 2016 - What would you do?

paulapalooza

I am in the middle of building a set of solutions where I work, and I'd really like to attend DevCon to learn as much as I can because I'm only an intermediate level developer. I work for a small company that probably isn't going to be able to afford to send me to DevCon 2016 ... same as 2015 ... and 2014.

I was thinking of selling my car and just attending Training Day and then going home after that. I drive an old beater Honda but I'm sure I can get enough for it to pay for the trip to Las Vegas and a hotel room and $200 for Training Day. Now I'm trying to decide if I should do the Intermediate or Advanced track. I'd like to learn the Advanced stuff, but I'm thinking the Intermediate track will strengthen the skills I have and fill in some gaps.

Which track would you take, and why? I just want to be sure to get my money's worth and come back with as much useful knowledge as possible. All responses appreciated! Thanks much for taking the time to read this.

• 1. Re: DevCon 2016 - What would you do?
          c0nsilience

Have you gone through FileMaker's Training Series yet?  If not, I would certainly start there.

DevCon is an awesome experience, with the Training Day only being a small part of it.  It sounds like you've been working in FM at your current employer for at least a few years, so I would definitely try to get them to send you to DevCon.  It will only enhance your skill set for them, which would be a boon to you both.

A good argument is that human capital is the most significant commodity that any company has.  If they invest in your skill set as an FM developer, the ROI will be immeasurable.

On the flip side, DevCon is certainly a great way to network and if your current employer isn't willing, or able, to invest in you as a developer, you will make many great contacts in the FM world to expand your future potential opportunities.