7 Replies Latest reply on Apr 21, 2016 1:16 AM by erolst

Evaluate - Newbie Question

RichardScales

Greetings all,

I have been using Filemaker for many years (V3.xx onwards) but have never come across the Let and Evaluate functions.

I need to patch up a legacy database for a client (which is why I need to stick with repeating fields for this question) and I would like to copy the contents of certain repeating fields from one table to another.

There are 24 repetitions and 3 fields.

I can see that I can use 3 groups of 24 set field statements to achieve this but was wondering if I could use a loop and somehow create the command that I want to execute for each repetition by using the evaluate / let functions.

Am I even close or shall I stick with the 72 set field statements?

• 1. Re: Evaluate - Newbie Question
          beverly

You might search for 'FileMaker Extend function'. It may or may not help, but worth a research.

beverly

• 2. Re: Evaluate - Newbie Question
            erolst

RichardScales wrote:

create the command that I want to execute for each repetition by using the evaluate / let functions

You could simply use Set Field by Name[], as in

Set Variable [ $i ; 0 ]

# only necessary if this is part of an outer loop

Loop

Exit Loop if [ Let ( $i = $i + 1 ; $i > 24 ) ]

Set Field by Name [ "SomeTable::newIndividualField" & $i ; GetRepetition ( SomeTable::oldRepeatingField ; $i ) ]

# [ or simpler: SomeTable::oldRepeatingField [ $i ] )

End Loop

RichardScales wrote:

There are 24 repetitions and 3 fields. […] I can see that I can use 3 groups of 24 set field statements […] Am I even close or shall I stick with the 72 set field statements?

But if you simply convert m repeatingField[n] into m * n fields, you're not really better off, structure-wise; numbered fields that store variants of the same data type should become individual child records with fields like orderNumber (the original repetition, if you want to keep that information) and value.