9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 11, 2017 3:45 PM by jbardwell

Help a Dummy

jhendrixenterprises@aol.com

I use Filemaker Pro to keep up with classified documents that are pdf. I am far from a pro user. In Pro 13 ( Individual License) I had all my documents in container fields. When I clicked on the container field, I could read the documents. Now that I have upgraded to 15 Pro ( Individual License), I can no longer see the documents. All I see is a pdf icon. I have hundreds and hundreds of documents. Please help. I could never replace all the documents over the last few years. When I go to inspector, pdf files are checked in data, but when I click on a empty container to add a pdf, it has pdf shaded out. I have Adobe extensions on all my web browsers. I am sure it is a plugin problem but I have no clue how to fix it. Can someone please help me?

• 1. Re: Help a Dummy
          JEDtech

FileMaker uses the same tool as the web browser on the platform you are on to display PDF content.  You didn't mention anything about your environment:

Mac or Win -- if Win 32-bit or 64-bit

If Mac try removing the Adobe web browser extension

• 2. Re: Help a Dummy

Win- 64, WIndows 10. It is not working  then. I have Adobe extensions on both Firefox and Chrome, but Edge uses their own. Could that be the problem?

• 3. Re: Help a Dummy
              hschlossberg

It sounds like you're on Windows.  Since FileMaker is a 64-bit application, it uses the 64-bit version of Internet Explorer to render.  That's not a problem because if you have a modern system, then IE is already installed as both 32-bit and 64-bit and it automatically renders using the correct engine.