7 Replies Latest reply on May 13, 2016 3:40 AM by beverly

Filemaker or Access?

douglas168

Hi all,

I am new to Filemaker but heard that Filemaker is easy to create custom database application.     I like to give Filemaker a try instead of Microsoft Access in our workplace but have the following questions.

1. Can anyone compare Filemaker to Access and what are some of the PRO and CON? 

2.  What is the advantage of using Filemaker server instead of using FM to access SQL server directly?

3. Any one know a good resource that will help me present Filemaker to the others in our workplace persuade them to give FM a try?

Appreciate the help,

Douglas

• 1. Re: Filemaker or Access?
          dreed

a brief comparison at the fmp 12 version level

FileMaker Pro vs Microsoft Access | FileMaker

a very detailed comparison, but based on quite old versions

http://rcconsulting.com/PDF/fm_access_comparison.pdf

Using FM to access SQL server has some limitations, based on the ESS technology.  The biggest for me is the inability to access binary objects (akin to container fields in filemaker) via ESS.

Wim Decorte is a good resource who is active here and wrote the white paper above.  

• 2. Re: Filemaker or Access?
            velistar

The resources above are excellent.

I am guessing you have MS Access already and you can download FM Pro 30-day trial. Give both a go for an hour or two and you will see the difference immediately. As a developer, I still cannot understand how to get Access working and make a proper database!

• 3. Re: Filemaker or Access?
              douglas168

Thank you for the input.  Though the above resources are a bit of old, it would help me get started.  Also,

1 - Does Filemaker have any performance and security advantages over Access?

2 - Users are requesting using mobile phone app to access Filemaker.  How easily is it to create custom app for Filemaker?

Appreciate the help,

Douglas

• 4. Re: Filemaker or Access?
                velistar