6 Replies Latest reply on May 15, 2016 5:14 AM by jurgmay

Strategy for running SQL query two weeks after an initial query?

jurgmay

Hi all,

I'm looking for a bit of strategic input from the community please...

I have a magazine subscription database and a key part of the system is going to revolve around contacting people who have let a subscription expire and getting them to renew their subscription.

What I need to do is run a query at a given point in time that will give me all the Customer IDs for the customers who have let a subscription expire. The result set is saved in a MagazineMailing table as a list of IDs and is used to export the customer data to send a letter out to them.

Two weeks later I need to run another query to tell me which of the original customers still haven't renewed their subscriptions.

I don't have a problem with the queries but my question is this...

What would be the best way to initiate the follow up query? I was thinking of creating and storing a list of MagazineMailing IDs which would be a list of all the MagazineMailings which haven't yet had that second query performed. Or maybe I run a query that tells me which MagazineMailings I still need to run the second query on?

Any thoughts out there?

Thanks,

Juerg

• 1. Re: Strategy for running SQL query two weeks after an initial query?
          Mike_Mitchell

jurgmay wrote:

Or maybe I run a query that tells me which MagazineMailings I still need to run the second query on?

How do you determine which records these are?

If all you want to know is how to fire off a script two weeks after it fires the first time, I would just save the date it was last run either in a single-record table (if you don't want / need a history), or create a record in a log table. If the latest date is more than two weeks prior to now, you run the query. You can fire the script either server-side (probably preferable) or when the file opens for a certain privilege set.