5 Replies Latest reply on May 18, 2016 12:04 PM by erolst

Switching Multiple Related PDFs

MJMWeb

I have a table called "Master" with a primary key related to the table "Documents" by a foreign key. "Documents" also has a text field called "name", and a field called "file" which is a container for a pdf.  I need to associate multiple pdf files with a single record so this is my setup. So far no issue. I have a global field in the Master table that is populated with the "name" field from "Documents" that are related to the record. I need to be able to switch which PDF is loaded in the container when the user selects a new file name from the drop down global field. Any suggestions? I can only get it to show the first one (when I don't use interactive mode the files do change based on the "filter" setting, but interactively it just shows the first PDF related to that record).

• 1. Re: Switching Multiple Related PDFs
          erolst

You could create a one-row portal into documents that is filtered by the global field.

AFAICR, portal don*t support interactivity; if you need that, create an additional relationship into the Documents table that uses the key fields and matches global against name; put the related container field

via that relationship on the layout.

MJMWeb wrote:

which PDF is loaded in the container when the user selects a new file name from the drop down global field.

Not sure what you mean by “loaded in the container”; your description only includes the container field in Documents. I assume you mean “which related record is targeted to display that record's container”.

• 2. Re: Switching Multiple Related PDFs
            MJMWeb

erolst wrote:

You could create a one-row portal into documents that is filtered by the global field.

I tried that, but I need interactivity which leads us to: