1 2 Previous Next 19 Replies Latest reply on May 24, 2016 11:33 AM by bsrobinson217

Mass Clearing of Fields

bsrobinson217

Hello Everyone,

I am very very new to File Maker, the person who was in charge of dealing with this unfortunately is not able to continue working with this program so I have taken over.

They have created quite an extensive layout and I would like to use the layouts that they made, but label them with a different year (they are labeled as 2015-2016) and I need to clear the fields and update the field titles to reflect the new year. I am unsure how to do a mass clearing of fields (we have able 1400 records that would need to be edited in this way). Is there a script I can use to clear the fields without damaging the layout/label names or will I have to do everything manually.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Mass Clearing of Fields
          steveromig

Hello Everyone,

I am very very new to File Maker, the person who was in charge of dealing with this unfortunately is not able to continue working with this program so I have taken over.

They have created quite an extensive layout and I would like to use the layouts that they made, but label them with a different year (they are labeled as 2015-2016) and I need to clear the fields and update the field titles to reflect the new year. I am unsure how to do a mass clearing of fields (we have able 1400 records that would need to be edited in this way). Is there a script I can use to clear the fields without damaging the layout/label names or will I have to do everything manually.

Thanks!

If what you mean is...

"In the found set I am looking at, I want to replace the data in FieldX with "blah" (or nothing / blank)"

...then the answer is you can use the Replace Field Contents" functionality of FileMaker Pro.