12 Replies Latest reply on May 23, 2016 2:32 AM by erolst

Moving container to a field on another table

theharrisonlee

First of all please bear with my terms i am a complete beginner to FM,

Basically the situation is I have many different forms (more than 30) and they all require attachments (photo or pdf) to them.  So I thought it would be wiser to have another layout called Attachment to do this.  So user on the Form layout could click on a button and then would take them to the Attachment Layout and use that to insert photos or pdf files.

The question is i am having trouble copying and pasting the photos inside the container back and forth.  How do you set the container to a global variable and how do you use that to put back into a field??

It would be very kind of you if you could provide me the scripts needed to do that.

Thanks so much for your help!!!!!

Screen Shot 2016-05-22 at 10.27.18 PM.png

here are the codes i have so far but obviously they don't work at all. 

Your help is greatly appriciated!!!!!!

Harrison

• 1. Re: Moving container to a field on another table
          erolst

theharrisonlee wrote:

The question is i am having trouble copying and pasting the photos inside the container back and forth.

Why would you want to copy anything around, much less back and forth?

The idea of an Attachment** child table would be to have one central place to store media files – as many as desired for any one parent – and relate them to a parent (or several).

The credo of a relational database system is: store in one place, reference in many others.

The next question is: why do you have 30 different layouts? Are they all based all different tables, or just variations of the same layout? There is (at an educated guess) lots of potential for unification, which would allow you have fewer layouts and simply use a portal (which is the simplest way to add related records).