3 Replies Latest reply on May 26, 2016 3:17 AM by anko

Issue with dividing numbers (using /) in SELECT clause of excuteSQL function

anko

Hi All,

This is my first attempt to making a chart in FM. I am using a (demo) license of the latest version.

I have a table with test data from which I want to create a graph. The first field (DELTA) is time elapsed since beginning of test (expressed in milliseconds). This is going to be the source for my X-axis. The second field (A) and third field (B) contain actual data and I want to create a single trace for these fields, using this formula:

(A * 256 + B - 10000) / 10

When I create a graph straight forward, it all works well. But I have other rows in my table that I need to filer out dynamically, based upon a fourth field (HEADER). So, I have switched to using executeSQL statements, pretty much following Dynamic Charting in FileMaker - Soliant Consulting . For my X-axis values I use:

ExecuteSQL("SELECT delta FROM TestData WHERE header = ? ORDER BY delta"; ""; ""; "287")

and for my Y-axis values:

ExecuteSQL("SELECT (A*256+B-10000)/10 FROM TestData WHERE header = ? ORDER BY delta"; ""; ""; "287")

But the resulting graph is distorted. When I try with this expression for the Y-axis values:

ExecuteSQL("SELECT (A*256+B) FROM TestData WHERE header = ? ORDER BY delta"; ""; ""; "287")

I get this:

Which is fine. When I adapt the Y-axis expression to:

ExecuteSQL("SELECT (A*256+B-10000) FROM TestData WHERE header = ? ORDER BY delta"; ""; ""; "287")

I get this:

So far, so good. But when I add division by 10:

ExecuteSQL("SELECT ((A*256+B-10000)/10) FROM TestData WHERE header = ? ORDER BY delta"; ""; ""; "287")

The graph gets distorted:

It looks as if only a few of the selected values were divided by 10 but the most were not. It is almost as if only values ending with 0 are divided and other values are not. Any hints / tips / suggestions are appreciated.