9 Replies Latest reply on May 29, 2016 7:29 AM by hogfoo

How do I add a record to a join table through a portal?

hogfoo

Hello!  First post here.

I'm new to FMP.  Apologies in advance for what I suspect is a very basic question.

I'm working to create a simple contact management app.  One thing I want to track is one or more types for each contact.  This would seem so simple, but I'm stymied!  I've set things up as follows:

Contacts Table

ContactID (pk)

Contact Name

Type Table

TypeID (pk)

Type Name (customer, vendor, contractor, etc.)

ContactType Table (join table for Contacts and Type)

ContactTypeID (pk)

ContactID (fk)

TypeID (fk)

Here's a screenshot of the relationships.

Screen Shot 2016-05-28 at 2.09.21 PM.png

I want to have a way, on my Contacts layout, to associate multiple types with a given contact.  I've been trying to have a portal with a dropdown showing the type name that, when selected, would update the join table with a new record linking the contact and the type.  Can anyone offer some insight here?

Many thanks!

• 1. Re: How do I add a record to a join table through a portal?
          beverly

Welcome, hogfoo! The Portal, as you may have found, will show all related records. You can "filter" (change the results shown) by calculation. That calculation can call a global field which might have a value list, such as your "type". The calculations updates in the filter and the portal changes.

see if these help:

and you can find more (including videos) by searching for 'filtered portals filemaker' in your favorite search engine, or just 'filtered portals' on this forum

beverly

• 2. Re: How do I add a record to a join table through a portal?
            erolst

hogfoo wrote:

I've been trying to have a portal with a dropdown showing the type name that, when selected, would update the join table with a new record linking the contact and the type.