8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 7, 2016 8:13 PM by sam0723

Calculation between two portals

sam0723

Hello, everyone, I am new to filemaker. I would like to know how to set up a portal calculating the difference between two portals.

For example,

Portals

Date                        Time               Time used/hrs

1/1/2016                  9:00                    9

1/1/2016                 18:00                   9

1/2/2016                  9:00                    11

1/2/2016                  20:00                  11

how could i get the result every two portals? Thank you

• 1. Re: Calculation between two portals
          mikebeargie

You're going about time entries the incorrect way. What happens when someone creates a third entry for 1/2/2016?

In your portal table, you should just have three fields, Date (of time), Time In, Time Out.

You can then create an auto-enter calc field that subtracts Time In from Time Out on the same line:

PortalTable::TimeSpent = PortalTable::Time Out - PortalTable::Time In

You could then transform the result of that into hours for your display:

Hour (PortalTable::Time Out - PortalTable::Time In)

Note that calculation will round down to the nearest full hour, for something more accurate, the calculation would be more difficult.

• 2. Re: Calculation between two portals
            sam0723

Thank you Mike.

Actually, I am working on the attendance database. I took the data from the software. Once export the data in excel format, the data are like,

2016/1/1    9:00

2016/1/1   18:00

2016/1/2    9:15

2016/1/2    18:00

so now comes the question, could I import these raw data directly to filemaker and do the analysis? or

I should analyse the raw data first before importing the data to filemaker?

• 3. Re: Calculation between two portals
              mikebeargie