1 2 Previous Next 17 Replies Latest reply on Jun 1, 2016 1:24 PM by Mike_Mitchell

delete all records over a certain age (or export)

psychonaut

hi i hope you are well.

i have a  customer with a file maker pro 11 database.

it has a 9gb datafile spanning 10 years of records.

i want to trim this down to the last, say, 2 years to make the whole thing easier to backup

i cant see how to do this. i have zero experience with filemaker so excuse me if this is a n00b question. i did about 2.5 yrs of sql 10 years ago though...so ive some idea of how databases operate.

ive made a copy of the database for archive purposes, and now want to remove all the records except for the last 2 years from the live database. (or i can do it the other way round, or some other way if anybody has a better suggestion)

any idea as to how i can do this please? bear in mind i have NEVER seen filemaker before.

• 1. Re: delete all records over a certain age (or export)
          Mike_Mitchell

Is there a date field in the table you want to archive that you can use? Like a creation date, closure date, whatever?

• 2. Re: delete all records over a certain age (or export)
            psychonaut

probably - but ive no idea even how to look at the table structures - all i can see is the front end of the db in user mode.

told you i was a n00b at this!!

• 3. Re: delete all records over a certain age (or export)
              Mike_Mitchell

Assuming you have full access credentials, go to File > Manage > Database.

• 4. Re: delete all records over a certain age (or export)
                psychonaut

yeah...thats one of the issues then - they are all greyed out.

customer swears blind that they only have the one login credential....i'll have to ask them to "reassess" that....is there a default admin login for FM?

ok. so assuming i can get into that bit, how does file maker work? is it SQL or is it propriety?

im guessing i will just delete