14 Replies Latest reply on May 31, 2016 12:57 PM by crazycoder

Using ExecuteSQL to sum a field with multiple criteria

crazycoder

I am very new to Filemaker. I am pretty well versed in VBA programming and have a little smattering of knowledge of SQL. I am working on a database redesign for my local fire department, but I have hit a snag. The fire department currently records all overtime in an access database. When a new record is opened for the Captain's to enter the data, a subform opens that shows which firefighters have the least amount of overtime hours to their name. The Captains base their choice for assignment on this list. The hours are calculated by several criteria:

The hours are only summed IF -- the overtime was accepted OR rejected by the firefighter (if the firefighter is not reached, etc., it is recorded as "attempted" and those are not counted toward the sum)

AND -- The overtime has the same shift type as the new overtime.

For example, if the Captain on duty opens his overtime program and chooses to enter a "Day" shift overtime, the subform only shows the sum of hours for each firefighter for overtimes that are "Accepted" or "Rejected" AND have a shift of "Day" or "Detail". If he chooses to enter a "Night" shift overtime, it shows the sum for "Accepted" or "Rejected" AND have a shift of "Night". Below is a simplified table to represent the gist of what we are working with.

Overtime FieldPossible Values
      EmployeeIDThe firefighter's ID
      DateDate of the overtime
      Status"Accepted", "Rejected", or "Attempted"
      Shift"Detail", "Day", "Night", or "Box"
      HoursAmount of time for the individual overtime record