8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 4, 2016 3:39 PM by xfiring

Auto create dates & times of classes

xfiring

What I am trying to figure out is how to auto create events/dates based upon start/end dates and classes that run during a period.  The example here is an exercise class that would be like this:

Class term beings: June 3, 2016 and ends August 3, 2016 and 'class 1' meets on Monday's at 5:00pm, Wednesday at 6:00pm, and Saturday at 9:00am every week from the start of the class till the end of the class session.

What I am looking to do is automatically create the entries for these days.  So basically if I could just create the class, select the times and it would automatically create these times (or whatever the times may be) from the start date till the end date.   I am pretty new to FileMaker but I figure if I could figure out how to get this working, I could then link these results to an actual calendar module to be displayed and attendance tracking.

I hope thIs makes sense and if I could get some guidance on where to start that would be great.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Auto create dates & times of classes
          erolst

Assuming you have a table Class with start and end date, and another table ClassDay …

Set Variable [ $classID ; Class::id ]

Set Variable [ $dateCheck ; Class::dateBegin ]

Set Variable [ $dateEnd ; Class::dateEnd ]

Set Variable [ $theDays ; "2¶4¶7" ]

Set Variable [ $theTimes ; List ( " " ; Time ( 17 ; 0 ; 0 ) ; " " ; Time ( 18 ; 0 ; 0 ) ; " " ; " " ; Time ( 9 ; 0 ; 0 ) ) ]

Go to Layout [ ClassDay ( ClassDay ) ]

Loop

Set Variable [ $dow ; DayOfWeek ( $dateCheck ) ]

If [ dow = 2 or dow = 4 or dow = 7 ]

New Record

Set Field [ ClassDay::id_class ; $classID ]

Set Field [ ClassDay::theDate ; $checkDate )

Set Field [ ClassDay::theTime ; GetValue ( $theTimes ; dow ) ]

End If

Exit Loop If [ Let ( $dateCheck = $dateCheck + 1 ; $dateCheck > $dateEnd ) ]

End Loop

• 2. Re: Auto create dates & times of classes
            xfiring