6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 15, 2016 3:12 PM by shauncooper

Hiding an object using scripts

shauncooper

Hello All,

I'm new to FileMaker and hoping somebody out there can help me. I'm trying to figure out how to hide objects in a report with blank fields by using scripts.  I'm okay up to the "Hide Object Field" in the Inspector  but don't know what to do in the "Specifiy Calculation" window.

The fields that I'd like to hide are text, number and container fields--what scripts should I use for each and what conditions should I specify?

Thanks for any help you can provide, it's not easy for a newbie.

Cheers

• 1. Re: Hiding an object using scripts
          Mike_Mitchell

If it's a report, then you are probably better served with the Sliding feature, rather than Hide Object. Hide Object will not remove the blank space from inside a missing element; it will just sit there.

It's not a script; it's a setting in the Inspector (Position tab, under Sliding & Visibility):

Screen Shot 2016-06-14 at 6.54.05 PM.png

HTH

Mike

(P. S. If you let us know exactly what your requirement is, we can probably give you a more precise answer.)

• 2. Re: Hiding an object using scripts
            ch0c0halic

Think of the layout formulae as applying to the field for each record as its displayed/printed. In a script you could set a global variable but then it's applying to every record. So you don't normally hide a field from a script.

So the field will be hidden for ALL records, not just the current one the script may be addressing.

This is for a report so I'm assuming you are printing it. A blank field being empty doesn't print or display anything because it's empty.

You say you want to hide the field if its empty? But, what happens to the 'white space' left in its place.

Your use case will tell us why you want to hide the field and that may not be what you want in a report. You may want the 'white space' to disappear.

Basically I'd say we need more information.