7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 16, 2016 9:36 PM by brucewilson

Import Records from Folder

TKnTexas

I am managing my scanned invoice PDFs with FileMaker Pro.  I scan each invoice to a folder called APInvoices.  I have the setting saved on my scanner.  A few times during the week I import the content of the folder into container fields, creating new records for each.  After the import I move the PDFs to a folder called \SCANNED which is under \APInvoices. 

My problem is that since I import the PDFs into the file, it is getting large.  But my understanding is that if I imported the reference to the PDFs, I could not change their location, i.e. moved to \SCANNED.  But if I do not move, then won't they get scanned each time?  I am so confused.

On a positive note, I have been doing this for about three months, and it has made my work so much better since I can see the invoices without going to the fileroom.  I have a script to export field content and create email.  Saved me several times.  I just need to resolve the file size issue.

What am I missing?

• 1. Re: Import Records from Folder
          StephenWonfor

Hi

You could do a Container with External Storage to keep your file small.  Same issue if you move them but at least they are out of your database.

Stephen

• 2. Re: Import Records from Folder
            erolst

Well, what you describe would be a Catch 22 when using a reference. You could of course import them after you added them to \SCANNED folder.

From the back slash path syntax I take it you're on Windows; on OS X, I'd have suggested using a folder action with an AppleScript to automate the import of newly added documents; not sure if/how this can be automated under Windows.

• 3. Re: Import Records from Folder
              brucewilson

I add files as references, then move the file (manually or using a plugin) and run a script like this

set variable ( $FilePath ; "filewin:/X:/APInvoices/Scanned/" & GetValue ( ContainerField ; 1 )