6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 20, 2016 5:04 AM by beverly

storing Apple Emails into a container field

tgbolwerk

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie and need help.

I am trying to create a FM solution that will allow me to drop Apple emails into container fields associated with a project record.

I would like to be able to double-click on the apple email in the container and then have it open in Apple mail.

Any ideas how I can do this??

Thanks!

Tim B.

• 1. Re: storing Apple Emails into a container field
          DonCollier

This is not a simple as it might first seem.  

The first part, dropping apple emails into a continuer.   This seems simple enough as you can drag and drop them but not as fas as I have managed from the mail application itself only from the original email file with is in a folder stored deep in areas you don't want ordinary users to get.

The second part getting the email to open from within filemaker i have not managed to do simply by clicking and the issues start to get wider.

First of all if you put and actual copy of the email into FileMaker then to make it open you need to export it and open it by using a script. If you just store a reference then it will only work on that machine.

None the above will handle attachments

Perhaps better would be to use a plug in that works with mac mail so you can have more control and store the email in text other than as an image. There are a number of them each with different benefits for different uses.

• 2. Re: storing Apple Emails into a container field
            PeterWindle

I would have thought that there might have been a way to access the "notifications" text/hyperlinks?? This would be ideal if it's possible

• 3. Re: storing Apple Emails into a container field
              keywords