7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 25, 2016 9:06 AM by mikeo'neil

Using Filemaker pro on iMac and iPad sync

mikegadd

Hi all Could not find out how to do this.

I am new to getting this working so sore if simple to you,  I have "Filemaker Pro licence".

My business is low turnover so cannot afford the server hosted solution (yet) but would love to be able to use a solution on my iPad in studio to add data and then sync to iMac/iCloud in office.   Just the one user me, images data need to be updated from iPad to the master solution on iMac (or suggest a better idea).

Any help appreciated

Mike

• 1. Re: Using Filemaker pro on iMac and iPad sync
          User26869

Hi Mike

If you stay on the same network, you can allow sharing (peer to peer) of your FMPro file and access it using FMGo on your iPad. Any changes would be then directly on the file on your iMac.

Alternatively, you can create a script that you run when your iPad on the network your iMac is on that uses the Import script step to import data from the iPad file into the iMac file.

Cheers

Chloe

• 2. Re: Using Filemaker pro on iMac and iPad sync
            bigtom

I recall Peer to Peer works over WAN as well so you can update data anywhere without needing to be on the same LAN. Sounds like this is what you need if there is a studio and an office in separate locations.

This would generally require that you setup a static IP with your ISP  and forward the oncoming port on your router to the iMac. Some dynamic IP addresses stay the same for months at a time, but a static IP might not be that expensive. If you have a website for your company it should not be hard to add a DNS entry for a sub-domain that points to you IP address. The iMac FMP host would need to be on all the time with the file open for the. Set energy saving to never let hard disk sleep and disable AppNap. Display can sleep. Should be good to go after that.