11 Replies Latest reply on Jun 27, 2016 2:16 PM by hampdentech

Insert text into field from popup

hampdentech

I'm a newbie so I apologize if this seems basic or has been asked before.

I have a text field in a form. I also have a separate (unrelated) table containing standard phrases. The table contains a primary key, a brief text field and then a long phrase.

I'd like to give the user a button they can tap (UI is for iPad) and have it present them with a list of phrases. When they select a phrase I would like the full phrase text from that record inserted into the text field in the form at the current insertion point.

The idea is to allow the quick entry of notes using predefined phrases so that the user can minimize their typing.

I'm not sure where to begin on this. I suspect it could be done with a popup menu using a Value List and then executing a script trigger but I'm not exactly sure. Also, I'm not sure a popup menu is the most intuitive method. I'd prefer to have them tap the button and then have a new form appear where they can select the phrase.

At any rate, if anyone can nudge me in the right direction I'd appreciate it.

Thanks!

Bob

• 1. Re: Insert text into field from popup
          karina

I added a file with a popup.

You can use the add address button to see the popup.

I would use a search field on top of the popup to filter the list.

If this is something you want let me know if you need some help with the search field.

• 3. Re: Insert text into field from popup
            hampdentech

Great! Thanks for the help.

I had actually given it some more thought and I figured I could use a Global field in a "resources" table to store the primary key for the selected phrase. Then, in the script, return to the initial form, set the view to the appropriate tab, and insert the text associated with the selected phrase into the text field.

I can see what you're doing and that is similar.

Thanks again!

• 4. Re: Insert text into field from popup