10 Replies Latest reply on Jul 10, 2016 5:01 PM by russk68

Auto create records based of a fields value

russk68

Hi all,

I want to create new records from a value in a field from another table. I am trying to create the script myself but I don't see the option to add more than 1 new record.

Example:

I have a field to enter the amount of guests attending an event =30

I have another table for guest info and I want a script to create (30) new records from the value of the field of guests attending.

Thanks in advance!

Russ

• 1. Re: Auto create records based of a fields value
          BruceRobertson

What does your script look like so far?

• 2. Re: Auto create records based of a fields value
            russk68

Hi

I haven't started one because I don't see an option for what I am looking for and wasn't sure if it's even possible to do. I am a novice at this.

• 3. Re: Auto create records based of a fields value
              ron.harris

Hi Russ,

I'm new to FMP and perhaps my note here is useless but, here I go any way...

My first thought was iteration so I looked in the Script Steps and found in the Control category of Script Steps Loop/Exit Loop/End Loop steps.  Though I'm not versed in this scripting language, I would think you could nest your creation of records in the loop.  I'm sure it goes without saying, but, make sure you provide an exit strategy for the loop.

Experts; if my assumption is incorrect please let me know.

Bruce helped me yesterday so I think your in good hands.

Ron Harris

• 4. Re: Auto create records based of a fields value
                russk68

Hi Ron,

I'll give it a whirl.

Thanks for the input!

• 5. Re: Auto create records based of a fields value
                  BruceRobertson

Some questions. You already have the list of thirty names? Normally you do not just create X blank records then populate them. What is the bigger picture here?

That said, the loop, exit loop if structure would work.