6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 11, 2016 2:54 AM by bigtom

ip on my device

padim

Hello,
      I am very new to FM. I am following the training on FM website and got to the point where I am connecting my device to the computer that holds the solution. The IP address on my device is 10.0.0.4 Nothing to do with the one on my computer. When I want to share the solution, in the dialog box, is displayed the same IP address: 10.0.0.1 It is not an IP address to which I can connect to, and it works on my device when I am next to my computer, but not anymore as soon as I leave the place.
      When I go to "Hosts" on the device, it shows the exact computer IP address with a / at the end, and requests to write the name of the file, which I do. But it then says that it cannot be opened, either the host is not available, or the file is  not available on this host.

How can I connect my device to my computer to use the solution outside?
      Thank you for your help.

• 1. Re: ip on my device
          wimdecorte

A couple of things need to be put in place, all of it on the network side of things:

- you need to know your external IP address (of where your solution is hosted).  That's the IP address assigned to you by your ISP.  If you don't have a static ISP address you need to use one of the dns services (dyndns, noip,...) that will give you a DNS name to point to your variable ISP IP address

- on your router/firwall you need to allow incoming traffic on port 5003, and you need to forward that traffic to the internal IP address of your FM server/host.   Which means that your FM server/host needs to have a static IP address otherwise the forwarding will fail when your host gets a new IP address from the DHCP server

- then on your device when you are outside of your own network you need to connect to that ISP address or DNS name

• 2. Re: ip on my device
            padim

Hi and thank for taking the time,