2 Replies Latest reply on Jul 13, 2016 10:45 AM by wimdecorte

Importing (via FM scripting) Issues

vanessa.vinson

I am new to FileMaker, and I am needing help writing an import for a file.

I have been successful in reading in the file; however, it is picking up the headers.  I am unable to check the header box as it is grayed out. 

How do I get to ignore headers in the script?

I am also wanting that when it updates or adds a new record to only show that found set that was modified or added.

How do I get the found set to display after the import is complete (with only the modified/added records).

After the import completes I get a pop-up message that says:

"There are less records in the data source than in the target table. Not all records were updated. "

Is this bad? If so how do I fix it?

In my code I say (can't share real layout/table names):

Go to Layout ["ABC" (the Table)]

Import Records ["$path"; Update existing; Mac Roman]

Any help on these 3 subjects is greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Vanessa

• 1. Re: Importing (via FM scripting) Issues
          Mike_Mitchell

Hello, Vanessa. Welcome to FileMaker!

Your questions aren't exactly clear; probably due to being new to FileMaker and unfamiliar with the terminology. So I'm going to take a stab at answering based on what I think you're asking, and you tell me if it's wrong.   

vanessa.vinson wrote:

I have been successful in reading in the file; however, it is picking up the headers. I am unable to check the header box as it is grayed out.

How do I get to ignore headers in the script?

I don't know what you mean by "headers". What format are you importing from?

I am also wanting that when it updates or adds a new record to only show that found set that was modified or added.

How do I get the found set to display after the import is complete (with only the modified/added records).