10 Replies Latest reply on Jul 16, 2016 7:55 PM by robert-42it

Table definitions statements?

robert-42it

I am just getting started doing my first project in FMP using FMP advanced 15 and I am finding creating tables using the GUI tedious and somewhat error prone.

Is there a method to create (and import) table definitions like you would do for SQL?

A MySQL table creation statement example.

CREATE TABLE customers (

customer_id           INT            PRIMARY KEY   AUTO_INCREMENT,

email_address         VARCHAR(255)   NOT NULL      UNIQUE,

password              VARCHAR(60)    NOT NULL,

first_name            VARCHAR(60)    NOT NULL,

last_name             VARCHAR(60)    NOT NULL,

shipping_address_id   INT                          DEFAULT NULL,

billing_address_id    INT                          DEFAULT NULL

);

I looked at the database design reports, both HTML and XML, but that didn't seem to yield anything really useful.

I guess I could create tables by creating a csv file with column names and import that to create basic tables, but I wouldn't get column definitions/attributes.

I am sure this will be the first of many questions as I delve into this interesting solution.

Thank you

Robert

• 1. Re: Table definitions statements?
          David Moyer

Hi,

I believe that there is a way to get a whole bunch of hand-work done automatically via External SQL Sources.

Please look up ODBC data sources in FM help.  Look for "Shadow Schema".

And other folks will chime in presently.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Table definitions statements?
            wintertj