6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 2, 2016 1:51 PM by jormond

Legacy License versus Filemaker for Teams

bautista.miket

Hi Everyone,

I am new to Filemaker and i just would like to understand what is the difference between Legacy License and Filemaker for Teams. I also would like to know which is better for a small team of about 10 users.

• 1. Re: Legacy License versus Filemaker for Teams
          planteg

Hi,

Bautista. Welcome to the world of FileMaker.

Legacy Licenses refer to the way Licenses were managed before FileMaker 15. Each copy of FileMaker Pro or FileMaker Pro Advanced included a License to connect to FileMaker Server. To connect using FileMaker Go, WebDirect or CWP, only once license was included with FileMaker Server, and you needed to buy additional licenses in pack of 5. For those customers with Legacy licenses, they can continue with this licensing method for three years.

With new Licensing called FileMaker Licensing for teams, you don't necessarily need to buy FileMaker Pro anymore for PC or Mac users. If you own some FileMaker Pro or FileMaker Pro Advanced, they still provides a license to connect to FileMaker Server 15. I say don't necessarily, because when you go for Licensing for teams, you get a link a to download for free FileMaker Pro (for user connection). This is the same software, feature wise, than FileMaker Pro, except that it needs to contact FileMaker Server 15 to get a License.

So mainly, the difference between Legacy Licensing and Licensing for teams is in the way you 'buy things':

• if you go with Legacy Licensing you have to buy FileMaker Pro and/or FileMaker Pro Advanced for PC users. For the price you get a License.
          • if you go with License for Teams, the client is free, but you need to buy a license.
          • in both cases, you need to buy licenses for FileMaker Go, CWP and WebDirect.