5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 20, 2016 6:27 AM by Mike_Mitchell

Writing a letter in filemaker pro15 advanced

Reg

I am fairly new to Filemaker and I wish to write a letter as a fee schedule.

I need to be able to include client info etc, and fees and other bits and pieces  from different tables.

Is there a way to have a letter with  different table information inserted.

I can put in fields from different tables, but it info doesn't appear in the document when I close the layout.

Many thanks

Reg

• 1. Re: Writing a letter in filemaker pro15 advanced
          Mike_Mitchell

"Unrelated table" means basically what it says: There's no relationship between the current table (the one on which the layout is based) and the table from which the field is drawn. You either need to create such a relationship, or use the correct table occurrence that already has a relationship to the current one.

• 2. Re: Writing a letter in filemaker pro15 advanced
            keywords

My preferred method with correspondence is to use a text field and populate it initially by script with standard text, including specifics inserted from data fields as needed. This method means that the actual text of the letter becomes a field in its own right within a record for the particular item of correspondence, and is then editable as needed to modify it for the particular letter at hand.

The standard text I start with can be stored in its own global field and transferred to the letter content field by script. It can contain placeholders for any data inserts (names, amounts, whatever) and these can then be substituted with the actual data from within the same script.