1 2 Previous Next 26 Replies Latest reply on Jul 26, 2016 5:22 AM by joeredc

Relationship issue

joeredc

I am a total rookie at relationships but for the most part my database works well. Only issue is have is that on my shipping layout I have to put both the product ID and product lot number in my record before it will populate all fields. The only way I could get the shipping layout to work at all was by creating a cartesian relationship and a copy of the products table. Can anyone show me the error of my ways? See attached pictureUntitled.bmp

• 1. Re: Relationship issue
          bgustin

Can you post the FMP file, so we can look deeper into it?

• 2. Re: Relationship issue
            DanielShanahan

Since your table occurrences show Customers, Products, Categories, and Shipping, I'm going to presume you are a distributor and the database is an inventory database.  If so, you'll need more tables:

Customers

Vendors

Purchase Orders

Purchase Order Lines

Receipt

Receipt Lines

Putaway

Putaway Lines

Sales Order

Sales Order Lines

Pick

Pick Lines

Pack

Pack Lines

Shipping

Shipping Lines

You may also need Invoice and Invoice Lines and Payments, but you might also use your accounting system for this.

You certainly don't need all of the tables mentioned above - some can pull double duty, as it were.  For example, Receipt and Putaway can be combined, Sales Order and Pick can be combined and if you only ship your contents in one package (in other words, you don't ship 1 of 3, 2 of 3, 3 of 3) then you probably don't need the Pack/Pack Lines.

Again, this is all presuming you are a distributor and have an inventory db.

HTH

• 3. Re: Relationship issue
              philmodjunk

If you hover the mouse over the upper left corner of Products and Products 2, do you see the same name listed?

If so, you have two table occurrences of the same table. Can you confirm that this is the case here?

The rest of my reply assumes two table occurrences of the same table.