6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 28, 2016 3:00 PM by user19752

Help with the lookup option

pbartow

We have a very old version of FMP.  Here goes.  It's version 6.  We are in the process of having it redesigned, but this question may relate to all versions.  I am not an FMP expert and did not create this database, but am the only person familiar with how it works.  There is an order number field and a purchase order field in a db called orders.  Both are repeating with 18 rows.  I know that there is a much better way but that will all be addressed in the future.Standard record or order would be:

Order #Po #Part #Qty
      100016123A100
      100016123B200

or

Order #Po #Part #Qty
      100116124A1000
      100116124B2000

Often 2 orders will be combined:

Order #Po #
      Part #Qty
      100016123A100
      100116124A1000
      100016123B200
      100116124B2000

So  I have another db call numbers which has 2 fields called order number and po number.  Every order number gets paired up with a po number.  Based on a lookup, if I enter 1000 in the order # field it will copy 16123 into the po number.  This works fine.  However I want to be able to enter say 16124 in the po number field and it will then copy the order number into the order # field.  I have tried over and over in a couple of different ways but am getting error messages.  Is there a way to do this?  Thank you.

• 1. Re: Help with the lookup option
          beverly

There is an article on the FM knowledge base (aka KB):

So if you search for 7463 under "Find an answer", you get the article. Or you can search (as I did) for 'filemaker convert repeating to related'. And that may yield more resources from your favorite search engine.

Study the how and why and get back to use if you need more assistance, pbarlow!

beverly

• 2. Re: Help with the lookup option
            philmodjunk